不在香港?
選擇其他國家/地區以查看特定於您所在地區的內容。

MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照於教育機構之使用

隨時隨地為學生和教職員工提供電影和有線電視節目

近年愈來愈多學校以電影作為教育工具,MPLC綜合式電影播放牌照(Umbrella License®)為教育機構的提供授權方案,涵蓋整個校園範圍包括課室、禮堂、活動室、圖書館等等,並適用於校內活動,例如英語電影欣賞、生命教育課、正向電影欣賞、代課課堂活動、課外活動電影學會、家長教師會活動、與學校相關的籌款活動及因戶外活動取消而設的影視作品播放等,亦提高活動安排之彈性。

雖然香港版權條例對教學用途有著豁免條款,唯教育局和知識產權署都明確表示,適用教學上的免除責任僅涵蓋,為教學或接受教學目的在學校進行的少量節錄 (例如3-5分鐘片段);而其他使用都不屬於該豁免範圍,然而其基本考慮因素均不能與版權擁有人的使用協議有所抵觸,從而構成對版權擁有人合法權益的損害。另外,影片內設有不可公開放映的使用條款資訊,所以如教職人員在學校範圍內播放影視作品,便需要申請相關的公開播放牌照授權,以合乎尊重知識產權之原則。

MPLC綜合式影視作品播放牌照®能以極簡單及快捷地授權學校合法地進行影視作品播放的活動,從而帶領校內學生學懂尊重知識產權,給學生樹立良好榜樣。在已公告的年費安排下及在公開播放牌照授權生效後, 貴校便可以購買並播放由任何經合法途徑獲得的影視作品載體,例如DVD、藍光、串流媒體平台傳輸或下載,作無限次數的公開播放。

許多學校都認識到MPLC的綜合式影視播放牌照®提供的巨大附加價值; 我們相信您也會這樣做。如果您需要更多資訊,請閱讀下面的常見問題解答,或立即申請MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照。

適用於學校的常見問題

問1:誰是MPLC?
答1:我們是全球最大的電影和電視製作人非戲劇授權服務提供者,目前代表來自世界各地的 1,300 多家電影和電視製作人,包括主要電影和電視製作人 荷里活 製片廠。

問2:我們以前從未聽過你的資料,這是一個新組織嗎?
答2:MPLC於1986年在美國開展業務,目前在包括香港在內的全球多個主要市場設有辦事處和員工。 我們於2018年在香港成立辦事處,現在亦是在香港知識產權署註冊的牌照授權機構,符合香港的要求下運作。 事實上,我們亦是六間授權機構中,唯一代表影視版權作品公開播放的授權機構。

問3:你是政府部門嗎?
答3: 雖然我們不是政府部門,但我們根據 《香港版權條例》運作。我們的註冊和營運符合條例中的法規。如果您對我們的合法性有任何疑問,我們建議您直接與 香港知識產權署 聯繫以作進一步釐清。

問4:你到底是做什麼的?
答4:我們代表版權持有人促進影視作品合乎法規的公開播放,使其能夠在私人住宅以外的各種場所合法地觀看他們喜愛的影視節目。這些場所可能包括教堂、學校、公共汽車、辦公室、零售店等。我們的主要目標是促使大眾尊重知識產權,並努力保障我們所代表版權持有人的利益。我們意識到在某些情況下,教育豁免條款能對非蓄意侵權的免責。但是,我們強烈鼓勵教育機構通過積极參與我們的綜合式影視公開播放牌照®計劃來展示他們對智慧財產權的尊重,並認可內容創作者的努力。我們特彆強調包含更大比例內容的重要性,而不僅僅是播放剪輯。通過這樣做,教育機構有助於為內容創作者提供公平的報酬和支援,確保他們的工作得到適當的認可。

問5:那是什麼意思?
答5:世界各地的版權法以專有權的形式為版權擁有者提供某些保護,包括公開表演其作品的權利。以DVD形式、付費電視、流媒體或下載網站向消費者出售或出租的電影和電視節目通常僅限於私人家庭使用。因此,在香港和其他地方,這意味著如果你想在家以外的任何地方觀看電影或電視節目,你需要一個允許你這樣做的許可證。我們代表我們的生產者客戶授予這些許可證。

問6:你為什麼聯繫我們學校? 我們是否被挑出來特別關注?
答6:在與教育局官員商討後,我們聯絡了香港每一間註冊教育機構,向他們介紹自己,並告知他們我們的發牌計劃,允許任何人隨時隨地以任何設備公開表演電影和有線節目。我們想(向他們每個人)解釋MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®的成本效益和有利優勢,向他們每個人提供針對我們公佈費用的重大限時折扣優惠,作為他們考慮的激勵措施。 

問7:但我們是一所學校。為什麼我們需要許可證?難道我們沒有得到法律的特別保護嗎?
答7:教育局和智慧財產權署均已明確表示,豁免教育責任只涵蓋每天在學校或學校內進行的少量公開表演;大多數不屬於該豁免範圍,需要許可證。可能是過去發生了某些活動,但沒有得到適當的清除,MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®可以為過去和未來享受電影娛樂提供具有成本效益的合規解決方案。

問8:我們為什麼要注意你?
答8: 我們所具有廣泛的代表性提供了巨大的經濟規模,使MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照成為一種更便宜、管理上更容易的替代方案,而不是全年繁瑣的逐個標題許可。 還因為您尊重創造力,並且可能更願意合法觀看電影而不是違法,並且作為一所學校,您希望通過承認、尊重和保護智慧財產權為學生樹立正確的榜樣。 但另一個重要原因是,我們已獲得客戶的授權,可以免除客戶對之前可能在當地開展業務之前可能發生的任何未經許可的公開表演的責任。

問9:那麼,MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®到底是什麼?
答9:這是我們提供的兩種許可許可之一,允許我們的製作人客戶的作品公開表演。MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®可能是大多數學校最具成本效益的選擇,它允許在任何時候無限制地使用我們代表的任何製片人的數十萬部電影和電視作品,而無需任何進一步的記錄保存或使用方式報告給我們。唯一的限制是放映不得向公眾宣傳,或收取單獨的入場費。

問10:MPLC的學校費用是多少,是如何確定的?
答10:MPLC為香港學校收取的綜合式影視公開播放牌照®費是根據可負擔性和現有市場條件在當地確定的。我們的分層定價方案已於香港知識產權署的網頁內作公告,並作為我們營運及版稅收費的指標。2019年的學校牌照費以每名學生相對較低的價格計算(即每名學生每年遠低於港幣100元)

問11:你們也提供內容嗎?
答11:不。與香港其他版權許可計劃一致,MPLC提供許可許可,允許使用任何合法來源的內容,無論是來自DVD,還是付費電視運營商,或許可的流媒體或下載網站,其中包含我們客戶的作品。

問12:我們通常全年只有一到兩場電影活動,因此綜合式影視播放牌照對我們來說可能不划算。有時我們會放映一部電影,為學生活動籌集資金。MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®是否有替代方案?
答12:是的,我們還可授權逐次播放的影視播放牌照,僅限於特定標識和引用的活動的逐個標題許可證,而不是對許可場所內的任何活動的任何地方/任何時間的授權。逐個標題的許可證還允許向公眾宣傳放映,並向出席者收取入場費。但是,我們的製片人客戶通常會對逐個產權的許可施加進一步的限制,包括價格不一致,有時還會對產權可用性施加限制。

問13:這比 Umbrella 許可證的成本低嗎?
答13:這實際上取決於使用的程度和類型。由於逐個產權許可涉及的變數和管理,使用費在每種情況下都需單獨協商,而不是分層或分類定價。如果一所學校考慮全年舉辦兩次或更多電影活動,MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®通常對大多數學校的一般需求更具成本效益,從而提供更好的價格價值。

問14:如果我不需要 MPLC 許可證怎麼辦?
答14:首先,請進行盡職調查,以確定在過去六年內學校沒有進行任何表演,因為如果沒有MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®,學校仍對過去涉及我們代表的頭銜的任何未經授權的活動承擔法律責任。例如,學生是否曾經在圖書館看電影或瀏覽在線流媒體網站?是否有公共區域,可能在大廳或學生宿舍內,可以觀看電視和/或DVD?在做出最終決定之前,還要考慮任何當前或即將進行的有組織的活動,以及它是否可能涉及電影娛樂。遵守規定的好處超過了與版權侵權相關的風險和公眾汙名。

問15:我已經完成了所有這些工作,但我們仍然不需要許可證。現在怎麼辦?
答15:沒關係; 我們只是要求您告知我們,以便我們更新我們的記錄並停止與您聯繫。我們將向您確認您的決定,並通知我們的客戶和/或相關政府部門。對於任何可能仍在訴訟時效內的未經許可的表演,和/或為任何未來的表演清權任何必要的牌照授權,您仍將承擔法律責任。

問16:我還有一些問題。如何聯繫 MPLC 和/或申請許可證?
答16:請致電 +852 3596 5857 向我們提出任何問題,然後填寫、核對費用後簽字並交回給我們,以完成我們的牌照申請(請從我們的網站下載PDF版本)。收到許可證後支付我們的發票,僅此而已。

Not in Hong Kong?
Choose another country to see content specific to your region.
Edit Content
Search
Help with a new licence?
Call +852 3596 5857
Support for existing customers?
Call +852 3596 5857

The MPLC Umbrella Licence for Educational Establishments

Films and cable programmes for students and staff anywhere, anytime

Recently, more and more schools use movies as educational tools. The MPLC Umbrella License® provides licensing solutions for educational institutions, covering the entire campus, including classrooms, auditoriums, activity rooms, libraries, etc. In school activities, such as English film appreciation, life education class, positive film appreciation, substitute classroom activities, extracurricular activities film appreciation club, parent-teacher association activities, school-related fundraising activities and the broadcast of film and television works due to the cancellation of outdoor activities. It also improves the flexibility of event arrangements.

Although the Hong Kong Copyright Ordinance has exemption clauses for teaching use, both the Education Bureau and the Intellectual Property Department have clearly stated that the applicable exemption for teaching only covers a small number of excerpts (such as 3-5 minute clips) made in schools for the purpose of teaching or receiving teaching, and other uses do not fall within the scope of this exemption, and the basic considerations cannot be inconsistent with the copyright owner’s use agreement, thus constituting damage to the copyright owner’s legitimate rights and interests. In addition, there is information on the terms of use that cannot be publicly displayed in the film. Therefore, if the teaching staff broadcasts the film and television works within the school, they need to apply for the authorization of the relevant public broadcasting license, in order to comply with the principle of respecting intellectual property rights.

The MPLC Umbrella License® can authorize schools to legally play film and television works in a very simple and fast way, so as to lead students in the school to learn to respect intellectual property rights and set a good example for students. Under the announced annual fee arrangement and after the authorization of the licence takes effect, your school can purchase and play any media of film and television works obtained through legitimate channels, such as DVD, Blu-ray, streaming media platform transmission or download, for an unlimited performances.

Many schools have recognized the tremendous added value provided by MPLC’s Umbrella License®; we’re confident you will too. If you need more information please read our FAQs below or click to apply for an MPLC Umbrella Licence now.

FAQs for Schools

Q1: Who is the MPLC?
A1: We are the world’s largest provider of non-theatrical licensing services for film and television producers, presently representing more than 1,300 of them from around the world, including the major Hollywood studios.

Q2: We’ve never heard of you before. Is it a new organization?
A2: The MPLC launched operations in the United States in 1986 and now has offices and staff in more than 30 major markets around the world, including Hong Kong.  We began here in 2018 and are now a registered Copyright Licensing Body operating under the supervision and approval of the Intellectual Property Department.  In fact we are the only registered Copyright Licensing Body acting on behalf of film and television producers.

Q3: Are you a government department?
A3: While we are not a government entity, we operate in accordance with the Hong Kong Copyright Ordinance. Our registration and operations align with the regulations outlined in the ordinance. If you have any additional inquiries regarding our legitimacy, we recommend contacting the Intellectual Property Department directly for further clarification.

Q4: What do you do, exactly?
A4: We facilitate licensing schemes on behalf of our clients, enabling legal viewing of their films and television programs in various venues beyond private residences. These venues may include churches, schools, buses, offices, retail shops, and more. Our core objective is to promote a culture of respect for intellectual property rights and diligently protect the interests of the rightsholders we represent. We acknowledge the educational exemption for unintentional infringement in certain cases. However, we strongly encourage entities to demonstrate their respect for intellectual property rights and recognize the efforts of content creators by actively participating in our Umbrella Licence® scheme. We particularly emphasize the importance of including a greater portion of content rather than just playing clips. By doing so, educational establishments contribute to the fair compensation and support of content creators, ensuring they receive appropriate recognition for their work.

Q5: What does that mean?
A5: Copyright laws around the world give certain protections to copyright owners in the form of exclusive rights, including the right to perform their works publicly. Films and television programmes sold or rented to consumers on DVDs, or via pay-TV, or streaming or download sites are usually restricted to private, home use. So in Hong Kong and elsewhere this means that if you want to watch a film or a TV programme anywhere other than your home you need a licence that allows you to do it. We grant those licenses on behalf of our producer clients.

Q6: Why did you contact our school?  Were we singled out for special attention?
A6: Following our discussions with Education Bureau officials, we contacted each and every registered educational establishment in Hong Kong to introduce ourselves and inform them about our Licensing Scheme providing anytime, anywhere, any device permission to publicly perform films and cable programmes. We wanted to explain (to each of them) the cost-effectiveness and beneficial advantage of an MPLC Umbrella License® by providing each of them a significant limited time discount offer against our published fees as an incentive for their consideration. 

Q7: But we’re a school. Why do we need a licence at all? Don’t we get special protection under the law?
A7: Both the Education Bureau and the Intellectual Property Department have made it clear that the liability exemption for instructional purposes covers only a small amount of the public performances taking place in or at schools every day; most fall outside of that exemption and require a license. It may be that certain activities took place in the past that weren’t properly cleared, and an MPLC Umbrella License® can provide a cost-effective compliance solution for both the past and future enjoyment of filmed entertainment.

Q8: Why should we pay attention to you?
A8: To learn more about the incredible ease and benefits of MPLC’s Umbrella License®.  Our broad representation provides huge economies of scale, making an MPLC Umbrella Licence a cheaper and administratively easier alternative to onerous title-by-title licensing throughout a year.  Also because you respect creativity and would probably prefer to watch movies legally instead of breaking the law, and as a school you want to set the right example for students by recognizing, respecting, and protecting intellectual property rights.  But another big reason is that we have authorization from our clients to waive our customers’ liability for any previous unlicensed public performances that may have taken place before we commenced our local operations.

Q9: So what’s an MPLC Umbrella License® anyway?
A9: It’s one of two types of licensed permissions we offer allowing our producer clients’ works to be performed publicly. The MPLC Umbrella License®, which is likely the most cost-beneficial option for most schools, allows the unlimited use, at any time, of any of our represented producers’ hundreds of thousands of film and television titles without the need for any further record keeping or usage reporting back to us. The only restrictions are that screenings may not be advertised to the general public, or subject to a separate admission charge.

Q10: What are MPLC’s fees for schools, and how were they determined?
A10: MPLC’s Umbrella License® fees for schools in Hong Kong were determined locally in accordance with affordability and existing market conditions. Our tiered pricing scheme was approved by the IPD and remains available online as a condition of our operations. School licence fees for 2019 are based on a relatively low, per student basis (i.e. well less than HKD 100 per student per year)

Q11: Do you provide the content as well?
A11: No. Consistent with other copyright licensing schemes in Hong Kong, MPLC provides licensed permission allowing the use of any legally sourced content – whether from a DVD, or a pay-TV operator, or a licensed streaming or download site – containing our clients’ works.

Q12: We usually only have one or two movie events throughout the year, so an Umbrella Licence may not be cost effective for us. And sometimes we show a movie to raise funds for student activities. Is there an alternative to the MPLC Umbrella License®?
A12: Yes, we also issue title-by-title licenses that are limited to specifically identified and referenced events, rather than the anywhere/anytime authorization for any events within a licensed venue. A title-by-title licence also allows for the screening to be advertised to the general public, and for an admission fee to be collected from attendees. But our producer clients usually impose further restrictions on title-by-title licenses, including price inconsistency, and on occasion, title availability.

Q13: Does that cost less than an Umbrella License?
A13: It really depends on the extent and type of usage. Because of the variables and administration involved with title-by-title licensing, usage fees are subject to individual negotiation in each instance rather than tiered or categorical pricing. If a school contemplates two or more film events throughout the year the MPLC Umbrella License® will usually be more cost-effective for most schools’ general needs, providing better value for the price.

Q14: What if I don’t need an MPLC license?
A14: First do your due diligence to determine with certainty that no performances have taken anywhere in the school within the past six years, because without an MPLC Umbrella License® the school remains legally liable for any past unauthorized activity involving our represented titles. For example, do students ever watch movies or browse online streaming sites in the library? Are there common areas, maybe within the hall or student hostels, where TVs and/or DVDs can be watched? Also give thought to any present or upcoming organized activity, and whether it might involve filmed entertainment before making a final decision. The benefits of prescriptive compliance outweigh the risk and public stigma associated with copyright infringement.

Q15: I’ve done all of that and we still don’t need a license. Now what?
A15: That’s fine; we just ask that you tell us so that we can update our records and stop contacting you. We’ll confirm your decision back to you and inform our clients and/or the relevant government authorities if they ever ask. You’ll remain legally responsible for any unlicensed performances that may still be within the statute of limitations, and/or for clearing any necessary permissions for any future performances.

Q16: I still have some questions. How can I contact MPLC and/or apply for a license?
A16: Call us at +852 3596 5857 and ask us any questions you might have, then complete our licence application (Please download the PDF version from our website) by filling, checking the fee before signing and returning it to us. Pay our invoice upon receiving our licence and that’s it.