不在香港?
選擇其他國家/地區以查看特定於您所在地區的內容。
編輯內容
搜索
幫助獲得新許可證?
致電 +852 3596 5857
客戶支援
致電 +852 3596 5857

屋苑/會所常見問題

問1:誰是 MPLC?
答:我們是全球最大的電影和電視製片人非院線授權服務提供者,目前代表來自世界各地的 1,000 多家影視製作人,包括主要 荷里活 製片廠。

問2:我們以前從未聽說過你。這是一個新組織嗎?
答:MPLC於1986年在美國開展業務,目前在包括香港在內的全球30多個主要市場設有辦事處和員工。 我們於2018年在這裡成立,是唯一一家代表電影和電視製作人行事的註冊版權許可機構

問3:你是政府部門嗎?
答:不,但我們在他們的授權和監督下運作。如果您對我們的善意有任何疑問或疑慮,請聯繫香港智慧財產權署,或點擊本資訊末尾的連結。

問4:你到底是做什麼的?
答:我們實施許可計劃,允許客戶的電影和電視節目在所謂的非戲劇市場公開觀看,例如在學校、教堂、公共汽車、辦公室、零售店、活動中心、住宅和醫療保健設施等。

問5:那是什麼意思?
答: 以DVD形式出售或出租給消費者的電影和電視節目,或通過付費電視訂閱,或從流媒體或下載網站出售或出租的電影和電視節目,均受其用戶條款和條件所限制,包括及並不限於僅供私人家庭使用。這意味著,如果您想在家中以外的任何地方觀看影視作品,您需要一個允許您這樣做的牌照。我們就是代表版權持有人向客戶授予這些牌照。

問6:那你為什麼聯繫我們的屋苑/會所呢?
答:向您介紹我們的影視播放牌照,可隨時隨地、涵蓋任何設備以作在公契範圍內欣賞影視作品,並解釋MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®提供的成本效益和優勢。我們為居民和物業設施管理人員提供增值效益和合規性的安心。

問7:我們為什麼要注意你?
答:我們所具有廣泛的代表性,提供了巨大的經濟規模,使MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®既實惠又易於管理,提供的高效的性價比。而因為你尊重創作者/版權持有人的權利和香港的法律,所以你明白且確保在這方面合規對每一持份者都帶來好處。另一個重要原因是,我們同意不會就過去六年內可能發生的任何因未有申領影視作品牌照的公開播放被授權人提出索償。從而免卻被受權人逐一清權之責任。 

問8:那麼,MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®到底是什麼?
答:MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®允許被授權人在任何時候無限次地使用和享受我們代表的版權持有人的數十萬部影視作品,而無需進一步向我們報告、保存或使用方式。唯一的限制是放映不能向公眾作廣告宣傳,也不能收取入場費。

問9:MPLC對屋苑/會所的綜合式影視作品公開播放牌照®費是多少?
答:屋苑/會所的費用通常基於屋苑內的單位數量,為三個分層定價。根據屋苑的規模,MPLC綜合式影視作品公開播放牌照®費每年可能低於每年每單位只需數十港元,我們還提供有時限的首年折扣,讓申請及內部核准程序變得更加容易。

問10:我們的設施僅供居民私人使用,那麼為什麼我們需要公共表演許可證?
答: 因為就《版權條例》而言,居民自有四面牆以外的任何地方(即他或她所居住的單位)均被視為公契範圍,即使該地方不對公眾開放。即使沒有一個最低觀眾人數以釐定公開播放,只要多於一人在公契範圍內任何地方觀看影視版權作品,該行為就會被視為法律上的公開表演。

問11:我們的居民使用自己的播放媒體在會所區域觀看電影,為什麼他們需要MPLC的許可證才能觀看自己的電影?
答:擁有或租用播放媒體供個人使用不包括公開表演的權利;這就是盒子背面和信用卷軸上的法律術語所說的。因此,雖然居民不需要獲得許可即可在自己的房間里觀看自己(或其他人的)DVD,但他們確實需要獲得許可才能在房間外的任何公契範圍觀看,例如在專屬電影院。

問12:我們的屋苑沒有會所電影院/劇院,所以不需要你的播放牌照,對嗎?
答:雖然並非所有屋苑都設有專屬的電影院,但許多公寓都提供一系列其他設施,用作播放電影和電視節目,例如在健身室器材上配備螢幕作影視作品播放,或在兒童遊樂區,或在學習亭,或在食堂的牆上電視,或在活動/多功能廳。我們的播放牌照涵蓋到您屋苑的所有公契範圍,甚至包括走廊和電梯!

問13:你們也提供播放媒體嗎?
答:MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®不會提供播放媒體。MPLC只提供播放牌照授權,從而允許被受權人使用任何合法播放媒體的內容 - 當中包括DVD,付費電視營運商,還是合法的流媒體或下載網站中包含我們所代表版權持有人的作品。

問14:侵犯版權的處罰是什麼,誰負責?
答:根據《香港版權條例》,侵犯版權行為可由每次侵權之日起六年內提出訴訟。此外,2023年修訂的《版權條例》規定,如未取得適當播放牌照,在公開播放中有意及無意間涉及直接及間接侵權行為需將承擔刑事責任。這凸顯了獲得必要的播放牌照授權以避免潛在的法律後果之重要性。對侵權行為的處罰包括對版權持有人的損害賠償、禁制令、帳戶處理或任何其他法院認為合理的補償。需要注意的是,此等責任不僅適腸於對直接侵權人士,還包括為此類侵權行為提供場地、設施/儀器或服務之間接侵權人士/團體。這意味著屋苑業主/投資者和管理公司都可能為侵權行為而承擔相關責任。

問15:我是屋苑居民,沒有收到任何關於我們設施有否申領播放牌照的資訊。我怎樣才能獲得更多關於我們屋苑在MPLC申領牌照的資訊?
答:請致電 +852 3596 5857 與我們聯絡。

問16:如果我認為我不需要 MPLC 影視作品公開播放牌照怎麼辦?
答:首先,請進行盡職調查,以確保在過去六年內,我們所表的版權持有人的任何作品沒有您所管理的處所內作任何播放,因為如果沒有MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照®,您所管理的處所仍需為過往未有申領影視作品公開播放牌照的播放承擔法律責任。舉例來說,如果屋苑或會所有電影院,有沒有確保這方面的記錄是否存檔?居民是否曾經在活動室看電影或瀏覽在線流媒體網站?健身室是否有可供觀看影視作品的螢幕或配備視聽螢幕的健身器材?在做出最終決定之前,請考慮任何當前或即將進行的活動,以及它是否可能日後涉及影視作品休閒娛樂用途。此等考量的好處在能避免因未有申領播放牌照而導致無意間構成直接或間接侵權行為,從而免於相關的風險和刑事責任。

問17:我已經做了所有內部查核,我們仍然確定不需要影視作品公開播放牌照。現在怎麼辦?
答:沒關係;我們只是要求您告訴我們,以便我們更新我們的記錄並停止與您聯繫。我們將向您確認您的決定,並通知我們所代表的版權持有人及/或相關政府部門。對於任何可能仍在訴訟時效內的未經許可的影視作品公開播放及/或任何將來而未有申領影視作品公開播放牌照的播放,您仍將承擔法律責任。

問18:我還有一些問題。如何聯繫MPLC和/或申請公開播放牌照授權?
答:請致電 +852 3596 5857 向我們提出任何問題,或填寫、核對費用後簽字並交還給我們,以完成我們的 牌照申請(請從我們的網站下載PDF版本)。收到牌照確認後,便支付我們的發票,就是這麼的簡單。

MPLC 網站(英文)
MPLC 網站(中文)
MPLC代表生產商名單
MPLC版權許可機構註冊
IPD 公眾表演、播放或展示版權作品常見問題

MPLC 網站(英文)
MPLC 網站(中文
MPLC代表生產商名單
MPLC版權許可機構註冊
IPD通函《公開表演、播放或展示版權作品常見問題》

Not in Hong Kong?
Choose another country to see content specific to your region.
Edit Content
Search
Help with a new licence?
Call +852 3596 5857
Support for existing customers?
Call +852 3596 5857

Condominium Estate FAQs

Q1: Who is the MPLC?
A: We are the world’s largest provider of non-theatrical licensing services for film and television producers, presently representing more than 1,000 of them from around the world, including the major Hollywood studios.

Q2: We’ve never heard of you before. Is it a new organization?
A: The MPLC launched operations in the United States in 1986 and now has offices and staff in more than 30 major markets around the world, including Hong Kong.  We began here in 2018 and are the only registered Copyright Licensing Body acting on behalf of film and television producers.

Q3: Are you a government department?
A: No, but we operate under their authority and supervision. Please contact Hong Kong’s Intellectual Property Department, or follow the links at the end of this information if you have any questions or concerns regarding our bona fides.

Q4: What do you do, exactly?
A: We operate licensing schemes allowing our clients’ films and television programmes to be viewed publicly in what are called non-theatrical markets, such as in a school, or in a church, or on a bus, or in an office, or a retail shop, in activity centers, residential and healthcare facilities, etc.

Q5: What does that mean?
A: Films and television programmes sold or rented to consumers on DVDs, or by means of a pay-tv subscription, or from streaming or download sites are restricted by their terms and conditions to private home use, only. This means that if you want to watch a film or a TV programme anywhere other than in your home you need a licence that allows you to do it. We grant those licenses on behalf of our producer clients.

Q6: So why did you contact our estate?
A: To tell you about our Licensing Scheme providing anytime, anywhere, any device permission to enjoy films and cable programmes, and explain the cost-effective, beneficial advantage that an MPLC Umbrella Licence® provides. We provide added value and peace of mind for residents and facility managers alike.

Q7: Why should we pay attention to you?
A: Our broad representation provides huge economies of scale, making an MPLC Umbrella Licence® both affordable and administratively convenient, offering a value far greater than its modest cost. And because you respect creators’ rights and Hong Kong’s laws, you understand the benefits for everyone of ensuring compliance in this regard. Another big reason along these lines is our agreement not to pursue claims against licensees for any previous activity that may have taken place within the past six years. That’s a lot easier than having to clear rights after the fact from individual producers on a case-by-case basis. 

Q8: So what’s an MPLC Umbrella Licence® anyway?
A: The MPLC Umbrella Licence® allows unlimited use and enjoyment, at any time, of any of our represented producers’ hundreds of thousands of film and television titles without the need for any further record keeping or usage reporting back to us. The only restrictions are that screenings cannot be advertised to the general public, or be subject to a separate admission charge.

Q9: What are the MPLC’s Umbrella Licence® fees for condominiums?
A: Fees for condominiums are based are based generally on the number of units within the estate, falling within one of three tiered pricing levels. Depending on the size of the estate, an MPLC Umbrella Licence® fee may be less than a hundred Hong Kong dollars per unit per year, and we also offer limited time, goodwill discounts against our rates to make things even easier.

Q10: Our facilities are only for the private use of our residents, so why do we need a public performance licence?
A: Because for the purposes of the Copyright Ordinance, any area beyond a resident’s own four walls (i.e. the flat in which he or she lives) is considered to be a “public” place, even if it isn’t accessible to the general public. There is also no magic number of minimum viewers required in order for the performance to be considered public. As long as more than one person is capable of viewing a film shown anywhere within the common areas of the estate, that performance is considered to be a public performance under the law.

Q11: Our residents use their own playback medias to watch movie in the clubhouse area, why do they need a licence from the MPLC to watch their own movies?
A: Owning or renting a playback media for personal use doesn’t include the right perform it publicly; that’s what the legalese on the back of the box and in the credit scrolls says. So while residents don’t need permission to watch their own (or other peoples’) DVDs in their individual rooms, they do need permission to watch them in any common area outside of their rooms, such as in the cinema.

Q12: Our condominium doesn’t have a clubhouse cinema/theatre, so there is no need for your licence, correct?
A: While not all condominium maintain dedicated cinema rooms, many provide a range of other facilities wherein films and television programs can be played and are often enjoyed, such as in gymnasiums and/or on suitably equipped exercise equipment, or in children’s’ play areas, or at study kiosks, or on a wall screen in a canteen, or in activity/function rooms. Our licence extends throughout all the common areas in your estate, even including the hallways and the lifts!

Q13: Do you provide the content as well?
A: Not for an MPLC Umbrella Licence®. MPLC instead provides licensed permission allowing the use of any legally sourced content – whether from a DVD, or a pay-tv operator, or a licensed streaming or download site – containing our clients’ works.

Q14: What are the penalties for copyright infringement, and who is liable?
A: Under the Hong Kong Copyright Ordinance, copyright infringement remains actionable for a period of six years from the date of each infringement. Furthermore, an amendment to the Copyright Ordinance in 2023 introduces criminal liability for primary and secondary infringement acts related to public communication, if proper licenses are not obtained. This underscores the importance of obtaining the necessary licenses to avoid potential legal consequences. Penalties for infringement include damages, injunctions, accounts, or any other relief deemed reasonable by a court. It’s important to note that liability is not limited to those directly responsible for the unauthorized performance, but also extends to those who provide the means or apparatus for such infringing performances. This means that both condominium owners/investors and management companies overseeing their operations can be jointly and severally liable for infringements.

Q15: I am a condominium resident and have not received any information about our facilities’ closure. How can I obtain more information about the status of our condominium’s standing with MPLC?
A: Please contact us at +852 3596-5857 to discuss your concerns with us directly.

Q16: What if I don’t think I need an MPLC licence?
A: First do your due diligence to ensure that no performances of any of our clients’ titles have taken place anywhere in the estate within the past six years, because without an MPLC Umbrella Licence® the estate remains legally liable for any previous activity involving their works. For example, if the estate has a dedicated cinema, are there systems in place for obtaining performance permissions and are records in this regard kept on file? Do residents ever watch movies or browse online streaming sites in the activity rooms? Does the gymnasium have common viewing screens, or exercise equipment fitted with audiovisual screens? Also give thought to any present or upcoming organized activity, and whether it might involve filmed entertainment before making your final decision. The benefits of prescriptive compliance outweigh the risk and hassle associated with copyright infringement.

Q17: I’ve done all of that and we still don’t need a licence. Now what?
A: That’s fine; we just ask that you please tell us so that we can update our records and stop contacting you. We’ll confirm your decision back to you and inform our clients and/or the relevant government authorities if they ever ask. You’ll remain legally responsible for any unlicensed performances that may still be within the statute of limitations, and/or for clearing any necessary permissions for any future performances.

Q18: I still have some questions. How can I contact MPLC and/or apply for a licence?
A: Call us at +852 3596 5857 and ask us any questions you might have, or completing our licence application (Please download the PDF version from our website) by filling, checking the fee before signing and returning it to us. Pay our invoice upon receiving our licence and that’s it.

MPLC website (English)
MPLC website (Chinese)
MPLC represented producers list
MPLC Copyright Licensing Body registration
IPD FAQ on Performing, Playing or Showing Copyright Works in Public

MPLC 網站(英文)
MPLC 網站(中文
MPLC represented producers list
MPLC版權許可機構註冊
IPD通函《公開表演、播放或展示版權作品常見問題》